Motivation & Discipline

chaos-227971_1280.jpg

Is there any way to kick the lack of motivation in depression? A classic symptom of depression is the dulling of energy. I’m challenging my depression today and seeing how many steps I can take in the right direction.

My first problem I’m going to deal with today is how much work I assign to myself, and my importance I put on that work. I think it’s key to think about this before doing anything, because it will affect my perspectives while I work.

Looking at the mountain of things that need to be accomplished makes the tasks seem more daunting. There’s just so damn much, and I don’t feel up to it all.

So I’m going to break this down into what needs to be done, and what could be done today.

Large goals:

  1. Get a job
  2. Eat healthier
  3. Make friends
  4. Be a massive hulk of muscle (Exercise regularly)
  5. Clean house regularly
  6. Buy a car
  7. Own a home
  8. Be successful/content

Now that I know what the bigger dreams are, I can focus on picking away at the daily things that need to be done to accomplish them.

Today’s Tasks:

  1. Write a blog post
  2. Clean the kitchen
  3. Do a workout.

I was about to keep going, but I think it’s important to keep it manageable. 3 tasks for the day I think is plenty for having depression. I can always do more if I feel up to it. Bogging myself down with to many things will make me feel worse if I don’t accomplish them.

With these 3 things, I’m going to take the easiest, most enjoyable thing, and do that first. And that of course is the blog post I’m writing. Being able to tick that thing off already makes me feel a little motivated to do more. It took me about 30 minutes to work up the energy to start a blog post. It’s important to start with the most enjoyable thing first, because you’re more likely to accomplish it.

I think it’s worth noting that there will be days where I just don’t accomplish anything. I might plan out the whole day and not do a single thing. It’s still good to get into the habit of planning goals. It’s sort of like playing the lottery, you can’t win if you don’t play. And every time you write up a list of goals your buying a lottery ticket. Is today the lucky day you have enough energy to do something? You’re more likely to do it if you intended to in the first place, and even more so if it becomes a habit.

Habits are what’s going to make or break me. Building these tasks into disciplines is what’s going to help me do them even when I don’t feel like it. I’m trying to go from tasks seeming hard, to becoming just things that I do on a regular basis. Things I don’t even think about anymore because they are so deeply ingrained into habits.

The first thing I picked to do for the day is also something that I would like to try to accomplish daily. That’s how it becomes a habit. If I can start with one, and succeed, I’ll see that I can do what I set out to do. I can move onto another healthy discipline once I’ve mastered the first.

The first thing I picked to do is going to become my first discipline. It’s what I enjoy most, have some passion for, but still struggle to get myself to do.

Now I know what I need to do today, and I also have the mindset that I don’t have to accomplish everything.

So how am I going to motivate myself to finish this post and complete my other tasks?

Honestly, I might not get that far. I know I’ll finish this post but what happens after that I have no idea. One thing I do know is I’ve started the ball moving.

Breaking tasks up into smaller tasks is a huge benefit. I already feel a little more motivated after writing a little bit. I’m feeling more energized and ready to complete what’s next. I didn’t feel this way before I started writing.

I was going to finish this post with some more tips, but I think instead I will do a live play-through as I go through my day. I’ll update as I discover or accomplish things.

Okay I feel great after starting up wordpress. I’m moving in the right direction, I’ve accomplished something, I feel good about that. I’m ready for the next task, which is cleaning the house.

My kitchen, bedroom, living room and bathroom are all pretty messy right now. I’m going to start in my room, it’s the easiest and fastest. Remember, were going for the feeling of accomplishment here to catapult us into the next task.

I just looked in my room, so much to do. Taking a smoke break to come to terms with what needs to be done then coming back.

10:10: Picked up garbage in room

10:14: Made bed

10:17: cleaned off desk

Break

10:23 Picked up all the clothes

10:25: Put laundry in washer

Okay wow, first off that was not the load of work I thought it was. That took like 20 minutes. I took a break for a minute in between looking at all the clothes that needed to be picked up. In reality it took me like 2 minutes to pick them up. That wasn’t nearly as hard as it seemed it was before I started. I feel super motivated! Okay maybe not super, but I think after a quick break I’m ready for the next task.

I won’t go into detail about my whole day, that would make this post way too long. I think that just the fact I cleaned my room after how I felt this morning is really cool.

I don’t know how much more I’ll do today, but I did more then before I had any goals planned for the day.

Things I learned from this experiment:

  1. Once momentum is created, it becomes easier to start a new task
  2. After I’ve already started, it doesn’t seem as bad, if anything it becomes enjoyable.
  3. I can accomplish things on days that I feel like everything is pointless.

I’ll keep my blog updated as to how I’m doing a month from now, and record my findings of whether practising a discipline works.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

