Short Stories

Good morrow, I’ve updated my blog a little bit. I’ve added a short stories section. This will be used for my daily writing goals.

I’ve set a goal of 600 words per day, and would like to slowly work up to 1000 by the end of the month.

Short stories seem like a great way for me to expand my writing skills, I’m excited to begin creative writing.

Writing short stories is harder then I had expected, it doesn’t roll of the fingers as easily as a blog post. I did learn that I need to stop editing so much as I write though and just let it flow, so I’ll be trying that on my next one.

I wrote my first short story last night, and found it challenging and rewarding. While I’m not too happy with how it turned out, it’s good to be able to go over what I’ve written and see what needs work. I spent about an hour and a half to crank out just 592 words, I’m very slow right now.

I found that I’m not that creative when it comes to the beginning idea. I’m sure that I could come up with something, but it might take hours. I’m not against taking the time to make my own ideas in the future, but for now I just want to be able to churn out words every single day. So I’m using writing prompts on reddit.com to come up with ideas. I probably won’t use the ideas exactly how the authors set them up, but I’m finding it useful to get a general idea in my head and start writing.

I’ll continue to use my blog as I need it to update what’s going on with me and how I’m coping with my illness. I’m hoping the added content of short stories will give readers something interesting to read. It would also be very cool to receive constructive criticism on my short stories.

I’m trying to take this slowly as it comes, and not overwhelm myself. A daily goal is something I’ve been thinking about for months though, and I think I’m prepared to take on this challenge.

There’s not much to say today, I’m feeling pretty normal. I’ll keep this short and just say that I’m feeling better everyday that I write.

Leave a Reply

