Pets and Depression

IMG_0934

That’s my boy Goose, wearing his favorite blue toque. He wore it for about 20 minutes before it fell off. Me and my girlfriend were laughing so hard when this happened, he was just so relaxed and careless.

Goose came into my life a couple years ago, brought over when my brother moved back home. My brother was living in a place that didn’t allow pets, so he sneakily dropped him off at my parents house one summer.

He is nearing 3 years old and is an awesome, carefree little dude. He’s brought so much joy into my life.

Goose has been there for me at times when I felt my most lonely. His happy attitude, and his quirky antics light up my smile. He comes when I call him, and you can hold him and pet him however you want and he just melts.

I have 3 other kitty residents, older guys we’ve had since I was a little kid. We named them after the 3 stooges, Larry, Moe and Curly Jo. These guys are all super lovable, although getting a little cranky in their old age.

Having pets has made a huge impact on me. There are times when you don’t want to be around people, but being alone just doesn’t feel right. It’s nice to have something to love, to show compassion for. I think practising love is an important part of managing depression.

My cats are one of very few things that can distract me from how I’m feeling. They also give me a reason to get out of bed so that I can feed them.

My pets have a healing effect on me, just having them around can brighten up my day. I don’t know where I’d be without my cat-pack.

Leave a Reply

