Devon

Devon, I miss you. I’m sorry we never got to be closer. When I saw the news on your wall it made a hole in my chest. I had love for you. I cared about your future. When I saw you going to school to be a firefighter I was so proud. I can’t believe you’re gone. You can’t just be gone, how could this happen? I don’t believe it. You had so much potential. You were so young. You had so much to share with the world.

I know they hurt you. You never deserved that pain. And you don’t deserve to be gone either. I don’t even know what happened. I’m a coward for being afraid to ask. Right now all I know is you’re gone and you’re not coming back.

We barely talked anymore. And still you touched my soul whenever we did. You radiated your joy, you were uplifting to me.

I loved giving you advice. I loved talking to you about the things that were hurting you. It was only a few things, but you were so receptive and I appreciated that. I wanted things to go well for you. Devon I can’t believe you’re gone.

I keep looking at your profile on facebook. It doesn’t change anything. It just makes the hole bigger. But I can’t stop. I keep looking at your pictures and seeing you alive and smiling just doesn’t compute with knowing that you’re gone.

We were never the closest of friends, but you had a place in my heart. If you didn’t I wouldn’t be breaking down so hard right now. Why did you have to go so soon? Just know that there are so many people who are going to miss you. So many people are hurt that you left us so early in your life.

I don’t know what to say. I’m lost for words. I guess all I have left are tears and a hole in my heart. I’ve never lost a friend like this before. It hurts so much. More then I thought it could. I don’t know what to do with myself.

One thought on “Devon

Leave a Reply

