Helicopters

My fears are helicopters running on inexhaustible fuel

They hover above me, the droning blades laying heavy on my ears

Phrases of ridicule are fired at me like red-tipped missiles

It’s only a matter of time before the men in black uniforms drop down

Aiming pistols at my chest

While shouting their frustration at my failed attempts to succeed

*

Silver jets with .50 caliber guns reinforce the plundering choppers

Their bullets are the memories of my youth

When the bully would spit on my feet and laugh at my stuttering

*

Troops dressed in grey sweatshirts gather around my house

They are all the same, it is a common man cloned to the thousands

He is the most frightening to me

His stubbly beard reminds me of men beaten by their fathers

His purpose is not entirely clear

I only know that he is a threat to my mortality

*

These armies of rage attempt to thwart me endlessly

Each day I am pressed to the ground

But through the terror I am able to find my ambition

With the help of a perfect man who died to forgive me

I ignore the thoughts of helplessness

And though I am delusional

I am able to go on with my days

Pursuing my dreams and challenging goals I set for myself

Leave a Reply

