Opera of words

The thrumming beat

It carries my words as their burden

Like the mast that careens the ship into a welcoming bay

If poetry is of folly, it is because the music was not enthralling

*

Wait, and now wait again

The most descriptive lyrics are about to settle

Onto the neurons that fire endlessly, the sparks of conscious electricity

*

With emphasis on clarity, I feel passionate about my work

Would you stay awhile, cross your legs with me and listen

To the way I express my thoughts in metaphor with tenderness

*

Drawing out a map of my desires, my intentions

So that fellow sailors may find their way back home

Where their lights shine from the back porch of the hippo-campus

*

If I may put forthright the jazz of my soul

I would be so thankful for your company, so we may dance

And sing about the emotions that tug on the corners of the heart

*

The chorus of my writing is my way of repeating how I feel

About those that I Love

With limericks I can share my deepest oceans of affection

That they may plunge into the abyss of endearment

*

So I give thanks to the melody that flutters the throttle

Steering my heart out of darkness through expression

And putting brakes on the thoughts of anxiety

Leave a Reply

