Psalms 62 and Poetry

 

When I pursue material things I am afraid

Euphoria is mixed with terror and alarm

The high’s that I chase are short lasting

They will surely amount to nothing in the end

*

Greed and satisfaction are my downfall

They tarnish my sanctitude

It’s time I listened to my heart once more

And allow the righteousness to circulate

 

*

My soul finds rest in God alone

My salvation comes from Him

He alone is my rock and my salvation

He is my fortress, I will never be shaken

*

Though I am threatened by madness

I will seek truth and the Holy Spirit

When I fall into darkness

I know the Lord will be by my side

*

I pray for forgiveness of my sins

I ask for protection from the evildoer

My heart goes out to the downtrodden

And I give thanks that I am alive

Leave a Reply

