Virtues

How does a man measure himself

Is it by his material success

His accomplishments

Or is it by the Love that he shares?

*

In my heart I think I know the answer

But my mind plays tricks on me

*

Do I want to be remembered

As a man who has great worth

Through money

I do not think that is my greatest desire

*

I just need to clear my mind

I’m serving two masters

*

Sometimes I wonder

If virtues can wait

That I can conquer the world

And ask for forgiveness

*

I must find my truth

And persevere through greed

*

I don’t want the Lord to think

That I could have been somebody

With a good heart

And righteous intentions

*

Though I am born with sin

It is my choice to hold up morality

*

So Lord grant me the serenity

To accept the things I cannot change

The courage to change the things I can

And the wisdom to know the difference

Leave a Reply

