Questions

What is timeless?

What cannot be taken from me?

 

On dark days I can be found weeping

Asking myself these flawed questions

 

We are thrust into existence

Clawing, thrashing, gasping for air

Pain is introduced to us with no invitation

So where do we find reason, passion, joy?

 

I cannot answer that question for everybody

I only know the answer for myself

 

I spiral downwards

To touch the sharp prickles

I bleed, I am poisoned

I am broken, cut and bruised

Until my body breaks completely

And I am left with a sopping mess

 

I pick up my heart

It has been trampled and roughed

And I begin mending

Sowing with a needle of purpose

Because I promised myself I would persist

Because I promised myself I would rebuild

 

I realize that moments can be infinite

I realize that nothing was mine to be taken

 

So what is my answer?

The challenge is my reason

The journey is my passion

The memories are my joy

 

Leave a Reply

