Bitter Coffee

Write another sticky note and slap it on the fridge

A promise to myself for a better life

But life has promised me something else

A hard line to follow, a shattered functionality

 

The shit got broken a few years ago

Rewired for a new reality that I never expected

Now my walking is full of fear

Highs up high, lows down low

 

The crazy thing is

If I had to do it all over

I don’t think I would change anything

Because I’ve been shaped by all of this

 

I’m strong in my vulnerability

There’s beauty in seeing the thresholds

My taste for life is enticing

And bitter coffee can be enjoyed some days

Leave a Reply

