Survival

The war ripped my head off

Splayed my arms wide and tied them off

So there wouldn’t be much fighting

But I still grit my teeth and spit

A whole lot of things can kill me

But this isn’t it, this isn’t it

I survive on a fierce breathing

Far from success, farther from death

Life is pumping iron and shadow boxing

But my chest is big and heaving

I stand face to face with gods

Asking for the hammer and the fist

They offered the belt but I say fuck it

Give me the hammer and the fist

Because fuck them

Leave a Reply

