Heavy

I do my best to carry my own weight

Leaving my whole body shaking and sore

Heart raw from straining and flexing

 

Gravity pulls hard

With little time for rest

I gasp for oxygen

 

Until I lose my breath and stumble

The heaviness shifting and starting to fall

Threatening to pull me under again

 

She embraces me

Whispering love

 

So that I am able to steady my walk

Squaring my shoulders under the burden

Reassured in my precarious footing

 

She ignites flames

That illuminate my soul

So that I may move

 

The dark and heavy are challenging

But her will to see me through is my revival

Humbling me on my road to survival

Leave a Reply

